You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Technical Issues
Moderated by Lord_of_Hell

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.3 replies
Stronghold 2 » Forums » Technical Issues » install error - is_string_not_defined
Bottom
Topic Subject:install error - is_string_not_defined
kiralsuir
Archer
posted 09-03-06 09:30 EST (US)         
Hello. This is my first time posting in this forum so please forgive me if I posted in the wrong place.
I recently brought stronghold2 deluxe (the single dvd version) but every time I try to install it gets part way through then gives the following error:
Feature transfer error
Feature is: ***IS_STRING_NOT_DEFINED***
component: maps
File: c:\program files\firefly studios\stronghold 2\maps\foug?es.sc2
Error: The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

I was wondering if anyone knew how to get around this error or if my dvd needs replacing?
Thanks in advance.

AuthorReplies:
PCDania
Archer
(id: PCD)
posted 09-03-06 11:53 EST (US)     1 / 3       
The filename your computer can't read is in the French language and I guess your computer is set up as default to use a non-european language.

Try go to International and Language settings in Control panel and on the Language pane set your computer to use English (you might have to add a language) and on the Advanced pane choose the same language as on the Language pane. You will need the installation CD for your operating system for making above changes.

After you have installed the game you can go back and change the settings back to what they were.

I guess Tarbo might have something to add to above so please add in as necessary Tarbo

"Cats are the only animals that are both uber, pwns and 1337 at the same time." -King Euric
By reading this fine print your soul is now the exclusive property of HeavenGames.
Tarbo
Archer
posted 09-03-06 13:14 EST (US)     2 / 3